Presidents' Distinguished Service Award

Presidents' Distinguished Service Award

The Presidents’ Distinguished Service Award recognizes the outstanding contributions of an APIC member in service to the profession through their work for the association. The award was created in honor of APIC’s first president Patricia Lynch, RN, MBA, CIC and her extraordinary volunteerism as one of APIC’s pioneering members. The contributions made by the Presidents’ Distinguished Service Award recipients have improved the organization and elevated the value of the infection preventionist within the healthcare profession.

Nominee criteria

Nominees are eligible to receive the award once during their lifetime. Nominees will be evaluated utilizing the following characteristics: Leadership, Collegiality, Service/Productivity, and Mentorship. Nominees must demonstrate:

  • Evidence of service to APIC on multiple levels, both locally and nationally (e.g., author, speaker, committee member, board member, etc.)
  • Evidence of leadership positions within APIC
  • Evidence of participation in the organization or related professional society
  • Measurement of the impact of contribution: References will provide examples of how the work of the nominee has made an impact on the profession or on a personal level through mentoring


  1. Must be a current APIC member in good standing for the five years preceding nomination
  2. Must not hold elected national office for the three years immediately preceding award designation
  3. Must have served in a volunteer capacity at the national level
  4. Must be certified in Infection Prevention and Control (CIC®)

Application process

The Nominating and Awards Committee invites you to consider nominating a worthy colleague for the 2017 Presidents’ Distinguished Service Award. The recipient will receive a commemorative item, as well as registration and travel expenses (up to $1,000) to the APIC 2017 Annual Conference in Portland, OR . Nominate a colleague today!

Word application


Past recipients

APIC is proud to highlight the achievements of previous Presidents’ Distinguished Service Award recipients:

2015 Susan Barnes, RN, CIC
2014 Susan Sebazco, RN, MBA, CIC
2013 Indiana Chapter
2012 Susan Dolan, RN, MS, CIC
2010 Barbara Russell, MPH, RN, CIC
2009 Barbara Soule, RN, MPA, CIC, FSHEA