70 years of antibiotics – webinar on November 20

From Tragedy to Triumph to Trepidation: Antibiotics at Age 70 (Webinar)

When: November 20, 2013 at 3 p.m. EST, 2 p.m. CST, 1 p.m. MST, 12 p.m. PST (60 minutes)

Speaker: Stephen M. Brecher, PhD

Cost: Free for APIC members

Learn how World War II, a famous Boston fire, and a historic football game all played a role in making penicillin the “miracle drug.” The chance discovery of penicillin soon led to many new antibiotics and the war against infectious diseases seemed to be complete. Fast forward to 2013—we now have a wide variety of antibiotic-resistant bacteria and no new antibiotics, despite essentially untreatable bacterial infections. Learn more and register.