Award Recipients 2017

Name of award


Recipient name


Carole DeMille Achievement Award

Stephen Streed, MS, CIC
System Director, Epidemiology/Infection Prevention
Lee Memorial Health System
Fort Myers, Florida


President’s Distinguished Service Award, in honor of Pat Lynch

Linda Dickey, RN, MPH, CIC
Director, Epidemiology & Infection Prevention
University of California, Irvine Healthcare
Orange, CA


Healthcare Administrator Award 

Jodi Vanderpool, MBA, LNHA, CPPS, HACP
System Vice President of Quality Operations
St. Luke’s Health System
Boise, ID


Film Festival Award

Rebecca Hamel, MHI RN
Infection Preventionist
Manager, Epidemiology Services
Providence Health & Services Alaska
Anchorage, AK  


Distinguished Scientist Award

Patricia Stone, PhD, RN, FAAN
Centennial Professor of Health Policy in the Faculty of Nursing
Director, Center for Health Policy, Columbia University
New York, NY


Chapter Excellence Awards

  • Member Support (Large)—Greater Atlanta Chapter
  • Member Support (Large)—Dallas-Ft. Worth Chapter
  • Synergistic Alliances (Large)—Indiana Chapter
  • Synergistic Alliances (Large)—West Virginia Chapter
  • Clinical and Professional Practice (Large)—Northern New Jersey Chapter
  • Clinical and Professional Practice (Small)—Western Iowa Chapter
  • Education, Communication, and Information Resources (Large)—Minnesota Chapter
  • Education, Communication, and Information Resources (Large)—San Francisco Bay Area Chapter

Chapter Leader Awards

  • Adebisi Adeyeye, DHA, RN, CIC (Greater New York Chapter)
  • Anne Reeths, MS, RN (Northeastern Wisconsin Chapter)
  • Annemarie Flood, RN, BSN, MPH, CIC, FAPIC (Greater Los Angeles Chapter)
  • Nancy Christy, MT, MSHA, CIC (Washington DC Metro Area Chapter)
  • Carole DuPerre, RN, BSN, CIC (Pine Tree Chapter)
  • Diane Dohm, MT, CIC (Badger Chapter)
  • Donald Chitanda, MPH, CIC (Dallas-Ft. Worth Chapter)
  • Juliet Ferrelli, MS MT ASCP, CIC, FAPIC (Three Rivers Chapter)
  • Kathy DiBenedetto, MSN (Long Island Chapter)
  • Paula Newman, BSN, CIC (Sierra Chapter)
  • Sharon Parrillo, BSN, RN, CIC (Northern New Jersey Chapter)
  • Alice Hughes, MSPH, MT (ASCP), CIC (Mile High Chapter)
  • Mary Thompson, PHN (Minnesota Chapter)

Film Festival People’s Choice award



Chapter Educational Grant

Minnesota Chapter

APIC Graduate Student Award

Mary Jo Knobloch, PhD, MPH
University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Pharmacy
“Leadership Rounds to Reduce Healthcare-associated Infections: A Case Study Approach”


Blue Ribbon Abstracts

Mugdha Golwalkar, MPH
“Comparing clinical and epidemiological characteristics of non-B invasive Haemophilus influenzae serotypes in the post-Hib vaccine era”

Jacob M. Vinocur, MS, CIC
“Transmission of Clostridium difficile across multiple healthcare facilities revealed through whole-genome sequencing”


Implementation Science Award

Kathryn R. Galvin, MS, MLS(ASCP)CM, CIC
“Reduction of Catheter Associated Urinary Tract Infections (CAUTIs) Through a Multi-Disciplinary Approach Implementing Skill-Based Validations”


  • Marichelle Cirunay, BSN, RN
  • Amanda Lester, MSN, RN, CNL
  • Lynn Pepin, BSN, MS, RN, CIC


New Investigator Award

Marko Predic, MS
“Risk Factors for Carbapenem Resistant Enterobacteriaceae Infection”


Best International Abstract

Daiane Patricia Cais, MSN
“Isolation precautions: active surveillance and multidisciplinary management save costs”


William Rutala Abstract Award

John D. Rihs, BS
“Microbial Contamination of Heater/Cooler Units: M. chimaera and Beyond”


APIC/AJIC Award for Publication Excellence

Cori L. Ofstead, MSPH
President and CEO
Ofstead & Associates, Inc.

Additional authors:

  • Harry P. Wetzler, MD, MSPH
  • Evan M. Doyle, BS
  • Catherine K. Rocco, RN, MSN, CNOR
  • Kavel H. Visrodia, MD
  • Todd H. Baron, MD
  • Pritish K. Tosh, MD

“Persistent contamination on colonoscopes and gastroscopes detected by biologic cultures and rapid indicators despite reprocessing performed in accordance with guidelines 2015”


Heroes Implementation Research Scholar Award

Eileen J. Carter, PhD, RN
Columbia University and New York-Presbyterian Hospital
New York, NY
“Exploring the Nurse’s Role in Antimicrobial Stewardship: a Multisite Qualitative Study”

Misha Huang, MD
Department of Veteran Affairs and University of Colorado
Aurora, CO
“Barriers and Facilitators of Procalcitonin Implementation to Guide Antibiotic Use”


Heroes of Infection Prevention Award

Mary Jo Bellush, MSN, CIC
Infection Preventionist
Excela Health Westmoreland Hospital
Greensburg, PA
Category: Process and systems improvement

Katie Cary, MT(ASCP), CIC
Infection Prevention Manager
Presbyterian/St Luke's Medical Center and Rocky Mountain Hospital for Children
Denver, CO
Category: Advocacy and influence

Dignity Health System IP Team
c/o Roy Boukidijian
Northridge, CA
Category: Process and systems improvement

Christina Ewers, BSN, MSN,
Infection Preventionist
Lutheran Medical Center
Denver, CO
Category: Patient Safety

Angela Rupp, MT(ASCP), MS, CIC
Director Infection Prevention and Control
Ann & Robert H Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago
Chicago, IL

Elaine Whaley, RN, MSN, CIC
Director Infection Control
Texas Children’s Hospital
Houston, TX
Category: Patient Safety

Jamie Swift, RN, BSN, CIC
Corporate Director, Infection Prevention
Mountain State Health Alliance
Johnson City, TN
Category: Advocacy and influence