Project Protect: Infection Prevention Fellowship

Meet the 2014 – 2015 Fellows and Mentors

HRET's Project Protect: Infection Prevention Fellowship provided enriched training, leadership development, and expert mentorship to foster the growth of dedicated leaders and infection prevention champions committed to improving safety and reducing CAUTIs. The year-long fellowship included online learning modules, cohort conference calls, one-on-one mentor calls, live shadow visit to the mentor’s facility, and capstone research project. Both the fellows and mentors contributed to the delivery of clinical and translational research relating to CAUTI using the CUSP model. 

This fellowship was made possible through the AHRQ On the CUSP: Stop CAUTI project, in addition to in-kind contributions from HRET and professional societies including APIC, Society of Hospital Medicine, Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America, and Emergency Nurses Association. 

Below is a listing of the infection preventionists fellows and mentors. Read more about the fellowship.


Ann Newell

Carolyn Wieging

Chaz Rhone

Clarice Marsh, RN

Deborah Henson

Gayle Whitmore,

Geraldine McQuoid

Janet Glowicz

Jill Furgason

Jill Hulin

Judith Webber

Kerry Blanchard

Kimberly Schelling

Lynn Gaffney

Marie Moss

Mary Faber

Michelle Strider

Nancy Fallwell

Renee Juster

Tameka Browne

Tammy Schaad

Wanda Mullins


Ann Marie Pettis

Darcy Koch

Deborah Marciniak

James Marx

Janet Riese

Jeannette Harris

Katherine Ward

Kathleen McMullen

Laura Netardus

Lela Luper

Linda Greene

Michael Anne Preas

Nicole Nomides

Sharon Williamson

Shawn Mueller

Vicki G. Allen