APIC’s Heroes Implementation Research Scholar Award Program provides career development opportunities for highly qualified individuals to plan, implement, and develop a written report for a research project demonstrating value and implications for infection prevention and quality efforts across clinical settings.

Consistent with the indicators of success for the implementation science goal included in APIC Strategic Plan 2020, it is expected that recipients will present the results of their findings at the APIC Annual Conference and prepare a manuscript for submission to APIC’s scholarly journal, the American Journal of Infection Control.

The primary goals of the Heroes Implementation Research Scholar Award Program are to:

  • Promote research in implementation science. Implementation science is research that creates new knowledge about how best to design, implement, and evaluate quality improvement initiatives.
  • Improve patient outcomes by championing for systemic adoption of infection prevention and control programs in healthcare settings; and
  • Highlight evidence-based and best practices in instituting this approach.

This scholarship will help to create bridges between infection preventionists and professionals in other clinical disciplines.

The 2021-2022 award period is now open. Please click here for details regarding the application.

2019-2020 Award recipients:
Valerie Vaughn, MD, MSc, University of Michigan Medical School and Ann Arbor Veteran’s Association Hospital, Ann Arbor, MI
Elizabeth Monsees, PhD, MBA, RN, CIC, FAPIC, Children’s Mercy Hospital, Kansas City, MO

2017-2018 Award recipients:
Eileen J. Carter, PhD, RN, Columbia University and New York-Presbyterian Hospital, New York, NY
Misha Huang, MD, Denver-Seattle Center of Innovation, Department of Veterans Affairs and University of Colorado, Aurora, CO 

2015-2016 Award recipients:
Amanda Hessels, PhD, MPH, RN, CIC, CPHQ, Columbia University, New York, NY
JaHyun Kang, PhD, MPH, RN, CIC, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA

2013-2014 Award recipients:
Lillian S. Kao, MD, MS, FACS, University of Texas, Houston, TX
Kristy Woodman, MS, MPH, University of Toledo, Toledo, OH

BD, a long-term APIC strategic partner, is pleased to support the Heroes Implementation Research Scholar Awards.