Heroes of infection prevention: on the frontline of patient safety

Each year, APIC presents awards to members who are recognized for the development and application of innovative infection prevention programs. These individuals and teams are at the frontline of infection prevention—producing innovative programs that ultimately help save lives. APIC celebrates these individuals by bestowing the Heroes of Infection Prevention Award.

Meaningful requirements and significant recognition
Nominated by their peers or self-nominated, these individuals and teams represent a broad spectrum of healthcare practitioners, including experience levels, healthcare settings, specialty areas, and geographic location.

The criteria for selection are:

  • Education
  • Patient safety
  • Advocacy and influence
  • Process and systems development
  • Program development
  • Cost savings

Application Process

Online Application

Word Application



APIC is proud to present the 2016 Heroes of Infection Prevention:

Process and systems improvement Sarah Lopez, RN, BSN
Process and systems improvement Shannon Davila, RN, MSN, CIC, CPHQ
Education Kelley Boston, MPH, CIC, CPHQ
Program development John Fall, RN, BSN, CIC
Patient safety Chaz Rhone, MPH, CIC
Program development Suliman Al Jumaah, MD, CIC &
Irene Barron, MSN, CIC, CPHQ

Since 2006, nearly 100 infection preventionists or teams have received this award. Read about their award winning programs.



BD is pleased to support the 2016 APIC Heroes of Infection Prevention Program and the outstanding and essential work of the Heroes honorees in the field of infection prevention.