Past Presidents

APIC presidents, officers, and board of directors are elected annually. Learn more about the APIC governance structure and current leadership, applying for leadership positions.

Patricia Lynch, a founding member of APIC, was APIC's first president. She served two terms (1972 and 1973).

Click the names in blue to learn more about some of APIC's presidents.
1972-73 Patricia Lynch RN, MBA  
1974 Shirley Chewick RN  
1975-76 Carole DeMille* RN  
1977 Shirley Bradley*    
1978 Kathleen DeLuca RN  
1979 Cheryl Cox    
1980 Kathy Holl RN, BSN  
1981 Mary Jane Freeburn RN, CIC  
1982 Jean Parret RN  
1983 George Counts MD  
1984 Ronnie Leibowitz RN, MA, CIC  
1985 Robert Sharbaugh PhD, CIC  
1986 Nancy Click RN, MA, CIC  
1987 Lorraine Harkavy RN, MS, CIC  
1988 Elizabeth Bolyard RN, MPH, CIC  
1989 Darnell Dingle MPH, CIC  
1990 Elizabeth Horan-Murphy* MT (ASCP), RN, MSN, CIC  
1991 Betsy Palmer RN, MSN, CIC  
1992 Vicky Zelenka RN, CIC  
1993 Linda McDonald RN, MSPH, CIC  
1994 Barbara Russell RN, MPH, CIC, ACRN  
1995 Terrie Lee RN, MS, MPH, CIC  
1996 Ava Lancaster RN, BSN, CIC  
1997 Candace Friedman BS, MT (ASCP), MPH, CIC  
1998 Frances Slater Feltovich  RN, BSN, MBA, CIC  
1999 Janet Franck RN, MBA, CIC  
2000 Susan Slavish BSN, MPH, CIC  
2001 Judith English RN, MSN, CIC  
2002 Georgia Dash RN, MS, CIC  
2003 Barbara Soule RN, MPA, CIC  
2004 Jeanne Pfeiffer DNP, MPH, RN, CIC  
2005 Sue Sebazco RN, BS, CIC  
2006 Kathy Arias MS, MT, SM, CIC  
2007 Denise Murphy MPH, BSN, RN, CIC, FAAN  
2008 Janet Frain RN, CIC, CPHQ, CPHRM  
2009 Christine Nutty RN, MSN, CIC  
2010 Cathryn Murphy RN, PhD, CIC  
2011 Russell Olmsted MPH, CIC  
2012 Michelle Farber RN, CIC  
2013 Patti Grant RN, BSN, MS, CIC  
2014 Jennie L. Mayfield BSN, MPH, CIC  
2015 Mary Lou Manning PhD, CRNP, CIC, FAAN, FNAP   


Susan A. Dolan




Linda R. Greene