Carole DeMille Award

2019 program has closed.

Stay tuned for the 2020 Awards!

Questions? Contact us

 Learn more about Carole DeMille

The Carole DeMille Achievement Award is awarded annually to an APIC member who, as a transformational leader, has advanced the practice and profession of infection prevention and control (IPC). The ideal candidate has used proactive activities and strategies throughout the course of their career to move the profession forward. Individuals who have consistently supported the profession at the local, state, and national levels are eligible to be nominated for this award. This award recognizes the serious and ongoing commitment of the recipient to the profession. 

The designated recipient must have made significant contributions to the profession of IPC, with clear evidence of active involvement in APIC.

Award  |  Eligibility  |  Criteria  |  Submission  |   Previous Recipients


The recipient receives:

  • A commemorative plaque;
  • $1,000 award check;
  • Complimentary registration and travel stipend (up to $1,000) to the 2019 APIC Annual Conference in Philadelphia;
  • A five-minute speaking opportunity at APIC’s 2019 Annual Conference; and
  • Recognition during APIC’s Leadership Reception at the 2019 Annual Conference.


The recipient must be:

  • Active within the profession for at least 15 years:
  • A member of APIC for at least 10 years (must be an active or lifetime member for the nomination year); and
  • Certified in infection prevention and control (unless certification has lapsed following retirement).



  • Demonstrable and sustained activities that directly impact the practice of IPC by contributing in varied ways which may include comprehensive and complex efforts to advance the profession.


  • Strategic (forward thinking) leadership – people who recognize/anticipate/lead changes in the field and/or who have developed new ways of thinking or new ways of applying existing knowledge.
  • Ability to build synergistic relationships where there is reciprocal benefit between collaborators.
  • History of peer-reviewed published original research, guidance documents, or position papers to advance the practice of IPC and/or the philosophical ideologies of APIC.
  • Education and mentoring for development of others in ways that promote the viability and credibility of the profession.
  • Demonstrable contributions focusing on national/international outreach with recognition that the profession has a far-reaching global impact.


  • History of achievements throughout the nominee’s career in IPC.
  • Instances wherein the nominee has earned recognition by another industry, training, education, or employer group as evidence of interdisciplinary collaboration.


The application for this award must include:

  • Online application
  • Nomination letter, including detailed description of precisely how the candidate meets the Award and Eligibility criteria (directly address all of the criteria appropriate for the nominee); 
  • Three letters of reference; 
  • and Nominee’s current curriculum vitae.

Previous Recipients

APIC is proud to highlight the achievements of the Carole DeMille Achievement Award recipients: 

2019    Mary Lou Manning

2018     Terrie Lee

2017     Stephen Streed

2016     Georgia Dash

2015     Cathryn Murphy

2014     Judith English

2013     Candace Friedman

2012     Ruth Carrico 

2011     Kathleen Arias

2010     Denise Murphy

2009     Russell Olmsted

2008     Rachel Stricof

2007     Loretta Fauerbach

2006     Capt. Teresa Horan

2005     Judene Bartley

2004     Patricia Lynch

2003     Carla Alvarado

2002     Barbara Russell

2001     Gina Pugliese

2000     Audrey B. Adams

1999     William A. Rutala

1998     Rita McCormick

1997     Grace Emori

1996     Elaine Larson

1995     Sonya Burns

1994     Angella Goetz

1993     Julie Garner

1992     Nancy Haberstich

1991     Marjorie Underwood

1990     Maureen Spencer

1989     Barbara Soule

1988     Rosemary Berg

1987     Sally Krause

1986     Jane DeGroot-Kosolcharoen

1985     Elizabeth Pantelick

1984     Marguerite Jackson

1983     Kenneth Buchan

1982     Sandra Pfaff

1981     Karen Axnick

1980     Thomas Merigan