The President’s Distinguished Service Award (in honor of Pat Lynch) recognizes the outstanding contributions of an APIC volunteer in service to the profession through their work for the Association. The award honors an individual whose service within APIC has been judged by peers as exceptional and who has made major contributions to the profession. The contributions made by this individual have made APIC a better organization and elevated the appreciation of the value of the infection preventionist within the healthcare profession. The award honors the work of Patricia Lynch, RN, MBA, CIC, and her extraordinary volunteerism as one of APIC’s pioneering members and its 1st National President.

Recipients of this award will be selected based on the impact their volunteerism has had on furthering the goals of APIC and the ability of the individual to inspire commitment from others. The recipient is recognized as a volunteer who goes above and beyond the call of duty to help whenever they are needed. Nominees will be evaluated utilizing the following characteristics: Leadership, Professional Stewardship, and Research. 

Now accepting 2021 applications!

Submission period: 9/1/20-10/31/20

Questions? Contact us

Patricia J. Gray, RN, BA, CIC, FAPIC 
Honor Health 
Scottsdale, AZ

2020 Recipient: Patricia J. Gray

Patricia J. Gray, RN, BA, CIC, FAPIC, is the recipient of the 2020 President’s Distinguished Service Award. The award, which honors the work of Patricia Lynch as one of APIC’s pioneering members and its first national president, is given to an individual who has made major contributions to the profession through service within APIC. 

Gray is currently an on-call consultant for HonorHealth in Scottsdale, Arizona, having previously served the same health system as network director of infection prevention and control before retiring from that position in 2018. She has been an APIC member for more than 25 years. Her contributions to the association have included president and legislative leader for the APIC Grand Canyon Chapter; member, vice chair, and chair of the national Public Policy Committee; member of the Regulatory Review Panel; and APIC representative to the National Quality Forum. At both the state and national levels of government, she has advocated for IPC measures and recognition of the infection preventionist’s essential role in patient safety. For example, she has drafted APIC comments to federal agencies such as the Food and Drug Administration, Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention on issues including personal protective equipment, medical device reprocessing, health information technology, regulation of healthcare antiseptics, and quality reporting programs for Medicare payment for a variety of healthcare settings. Gray is a frequent presenter on public policy topics and other IPC issues and was a co-lead author on the 2010 APIC position paper “(Coding/Billing) Data for Identification of Healthcare-Associated Infections (HAIs) in US Hospitals.” 

The President’s Distinguished Service Award is presented during the Opening Plenary of APIC’s Annual Conference. The recipient receives a commemorative plaque, and complimentary registration and travel stipend (up to $1000) to APIC’s Annual Conference.

  • Must be a current APIC member in good standing for the five years preceding nomination.
  • Certified in Infection Prevention and Control (CIC®).
  • Qualifying individuals are eligible to receive the award once in a lifetime.
    • Evidence of service to APIC on multiple levels as evidenced by national participation as an author (in peer-reviewed publications), speaker, committee participation, Board participation, political activism, etc. within the past 15 years. (Local participation does not include chapter activities.)


  • Online application
  • Nominee’s current curriculum vitae
  • Nomination letter, including overview of how candidate meets award criteria
  • Three letters of reference
    • References will provide examples of how the work of the nominee has made an impact on the profession or on a personal level through mentoring. Nominees are evaluated based on the following characteristics: Leadership, Professional Stewardship, and Research.
Year Name
2019 Marc-Oliver Wright, MT(ASCP), MS, CIC, FAPIC
2018 Connie Steed, RN, CIC, MSN, FAPIC
2017 Linda Dickey, RN, MPH, CIC
2015 Susan Barnes, RN, CIC
2014 Susan Sebazco, RN, MBA, CIC
2013 Indiana Chapter
2012 Susan Dolan, RN, MS, CIC
2010 Barbara Russell, MPH, RN, CIC
2009 Barbara Soule, RN, MPA, CIC, FSHEA