APIC is governed by an elected board of directors composed of four officers, the immediate past-president, no less than nine and no more than 12 directors.

The executive committee includes the president who serves as chair, the president-elect, the immediate past president, the treasurer, the secretary and one at-large board member. The chief executive officer serves as an ex-officio member of the board of directors and the executive committee.

  • The board is responsible for positioning the association to best serve APIC members as well as maintaining the focus and vision to improve the practice and management of infection prevention.
  • The board establishes policy; directs the activities of the elected officials, committees, and chief executive officer; oversees APIC’s finances; and charters chapters.

APIC Past Presidents

Learn more about applying for leadership positions within APIC and CBIC.

2019 APIC Board of Directors and Officers

Standing:  Carol McLay, Beth Duffy, Kathleen Gase, Tania Bubb, Barbara Smith, Tom Button, Linda Dickey, Carol Vance, Jodi Vanderpool, Dorine Berriel-Cass, Irena Kenneley
Sitting:  Ann Marie Pettis, Connie Steed, Karen Hoffmann, Katrina Crist, Janet Haas, Pat Metcalf Jackson, Lela Luper

President:  Karen Hoffmann, RN, MS, CIC, FSHEA, FAPIC (2019)
President-elect:  Connie Steed, MSN, RN, CIC, FAPIC (2019)
Immediate Past President:  Janet Haas, RN, PhD, CIC, FSHEA, FAPIC (2019)
Secretary:  Ann Marie Pettis, RN, BSN, CIC, FAPIC (2019)
Treasurer:  Pat Metcalf Jackson, RN, MA, CIC, FAPIC (2020)

Dorine Berriel-Cass, MA, BSN, RN, CIC, FAPIC (2021)
Tania Bubb, PhD, RN, CIC, FAPIC (2019)
Thomas Button, RN, BSN, NE-BC, CIC, FAPIC (2019)
Linda Dickey, RN, MPH, CIC, FAPIC (2020)
Kathleen Gase, MBA, MPH, CIC, FAPIC (2021)
Irena Kenneley, PhD, APHRN-BC, CIC, FAPIC (2019)
Lela Luper, RN, BS, CIC, FAPIC (2020)
Carol McLay, DrPH, MPH, RN, CIC, FAPIC (2020)
Barbara Smith, RN, BSN, MPA, CIC, FAPIC (2019)
Carol Vance, MSN, RN, PHN, CIC (2021)

External Directors
Beth Duffy, MBA (2019)
Jodi Vanderpool, MBA, LNHA, CBPPS, HACP (2020)

Ex Officio
Katrina Crist, MBA, CAE

Terms expire as noted above in parenthesis after each name. The president, president-elect, and immediate past president are one year terms with the president-elect succeeding to president and then immediate past president effectively serving for three years in a president-related role. Both the treasurer and secretary serve two-year terms.